Scott Woods Writes

Strictly process, strictly progress.

Scott’s Prompts for Poets

Happy National Poetry Month!

First, did you know that there are coffeeshops around the country that will give you coffee for the price of a poem? Today only, so be sure to support businesses that support poetry!

If you are writing poems this month in whatever variety of challenges might be spurring you on, good luck! For those who are looking for inspiration, I’ve wrangled my muse and compiled in one place all of the publicly available prompts I’ve ever released (that I can remember). As you can see, the sources are disparate in tone and complexity, but all well-meaning. We’re talking hundreds of prompts, exercises and ideas for poems. Something that should be said: there are a lot of people out there who facilitate poetry workshops and use prompts, and typically you have to pay fro them. This is 100% as it should be. I’m only releasing all of this stuff for free because it’s old to me. If I do a workshop now it has new material anyway. I am in no way encouraging people to give away workshop materials for free. I only ask that you use my work, not steal it.

Poets, a word of advice: if you want to get a bunch of poems done this month, remember this screen:

facebookloggingout

Scott’s LiveJournal Record of Prompts
Some go back a while. This list includes a partial list of the Twitter explosion of prompts I did last year. And by partial I mean almost 300 ideas in April 2014 alone. I’ll randomly add some to Twitter this month as they occur to me.

Scott’s 30/1 Challenge
Some people are doing 30 poems in 30 days this month. Back in 2010 I did 30 poems in 1 day, in 30 separate forms.

Poems I’ve Read at all seven 24-Hour Poetry Features
You still need to be reading to fuel the engine of your creativity. This is a compilation of all of the poems I have read at 24-hour readings over the last seven years, averaging 360 poems a year. When you consider that I enjoyed most of the poems I read at those readings (some I just came to…appreciate), that’s over 2500 poems in one fell swoop. I can think of no better record of what I think people should read than the work I shared in that context, at great peril to my body and sanity.

Scott’s Mother Lode of Prompts
This is a Dropbox folder filled with various worksheets from old exercises and more. Lots of prompts and nick nacks.

Good luck!

3 comments on “Scott’s Prompts for Poets

  1. anisa1149
    April 1, 2015

    Thanks for sharing this!

  2. Ada
    April 2, 2015

    THANK YOU for sharing this huge library of cool ideas. #somuchappreciation

  3. poetessredd
    April 4, 2015

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Scott Woods Writes on WordPress.com
