Scott Woods Writes

Strictly process, strictly progress.

NaNoWriNO and Ferguson Writings

NaNoWriMo is over, and by that I mean I failed to reach the word count of 50K. I’m not beating myself up too much. I got a novel off the ground to the tune of 10K that I really needed to get started on, so in a way my failure is merely cosmetic. This novel was always going to be more marathon than series of sprints. December is looking good for more earnest attempts.

It should be noted that I did a TON of writing this month, though mostly of the blog article variety. Ferguson happened (again, though differently), and while I had little new to offer on the larger picture of what’s been happening there that I hadn’t already said before, I did have something to say about the riots. Well, a few somethings.

Here is a list of just about everything of note that I wrote regarding Ferguson this past week. All in all it’s probably 5-10K that didn’t go into my NaNoWriMo novel, but I’m not complaining. This was necessary work.

Looting is a Response, Not an Opportunity
Dear People Who Think We’re Wrong About Ferguson
People Damage over Property Damage: Contextualizing Riots
Ferguson Riot Critics: You’re Doing It Wrong

You Are Under No Obligation To Engage
My #blackpoetsspeakout video

Be good to each other out there.

NaNoWriMo fail

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 1, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Scott Woods Writes on WordPress.com
